Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gree secures publishing deals with Gameloft and Ubisoft

Tue 21 Feb 2012 10:58am GMT / 5:58am EST / 2:58am PST
Mobile

Card battling game and Assassin's Creed title to be released on new global network

Gree has penned a publishing partnership with Gameloft and Ubisoft, announcing that a new card battling title from Gameloft and a supplementary Assassin's Creed 3 game will be launching exclusively on the company's platform.

Currently that platform is split between Gree's domestic operations and OpenFeint, which Gree acquired last April for $104 million. However, those two platforms will be amalgamated this summer to form a global presence.

It's on this combined platform which Gameloft's gang-based card battling game, code named Gang Domination, will be launched. The title will use a micro-transaction model, which provides Gree with the majority of its revenues, to allow players to buy cards, which will be selected at random.

Ubisoft's involvement centres on the publisher's embrace of multi-screen and transmedia approaches, which have seen the Assassin's Creed franchise expand from games alone to novels, short films, supplementary games and comics. The exact nature of the property to be launched on the new Gree network remains uncertain.

Gree has set itself a target of a one billion string userbase within the next three to five years, with a projected revenue for this full financial year of 1.6-1.7 Euros.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now