Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony bringing Move SDK Move.Me to UK

Fri 17 Feb 2012 10:04am GMT / 5:04am EST / 2:04am PST
Developer Tools

Package designed to make motion detection development easier

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sonyhas released Move.Me, the SDK for its Move motion controllers, in Europe and the UK after a successful trial in the US.

Move.Me will enable users to create applications using Move via a PC, much in the same way that Microsoft's Kinect SDK did. However, Sony has already declared its intent to make Move even more flexible and hackable than Kinect, something which it hopes will appeal to academics, researchers and programmers alike.

"Move.me is already being used by various universities in North America in cutting edge physical therapy and creative design projects," said SCEE's head of academic development and partnerships Maria Stukoff.

"We're eagerly anticipating what else is possible now we've extended its availability."

Whilst Move has not seen the commercial success which Kinect has enjoyed, Sony has demonstrated it commitment to the program with regular inclusion of Move controls in major first-party releases.

1 Comment

Andrew Jakobs
Lead Programmer

223 83 0.4
The biggest failure of the move.me SDK is the need for a PS3, it's totally unnecesary to have a PS3 as the move (and camera) can be connected directly to the PC without the need for the PS3..

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now