Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SOE launches fifth G.I.R.L. US design competition

Fri 17 Feb 2012 10:00am GMT / 5:00am EST / 2:00am PST
Education

Submissions open for the chance to win a scholarship and work experience

Sony Entertainment Online has opened submissions for its fifth Gamers in Real Life (G.I.R.L.) Game Design Competition, designed to promote and inspire American women with hopes of working in the industry.

"The goal of G.I.R.L. has always been of opportunity, education and recruitment to get more women into the gaming industry," said SOE's Laura Naviaux.

"Over the last few years, we have been nothing short of impressed with the hundreds of amazing submissions from talented students nationwide. Now in our fifth year, we can't wait to see the creativity that comes out of the G.I.R.L. program."

The winner receives $10,000 towards their education plus paid work experience with SOE. The first competition took place in 2008, and since then four people have won scholarships and gone on to work in the industry.

Submissions close on March 29, and more details on how to enter can be found on the official site.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now