Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Tencent takes Sims Social to China

Tue 14 Feb 2012 8:52am GMT / 3:52am EST / 12:52am PST

Playfish Beijing working on title for QZone social network

EA and Tencent have signed a deal to take popular casual title The Sims Social to China, where it will appear on Tencent's QZone network as Mo Ni Shi Guang.

Playfish Beijing is currently localising the title and adding some tweaks specifically for the features of the Chinese social network. There's current a closed beta for the title, with an open one expected soon.

It will be interesting to see if Sims Social can repeat its success in China. In the western market the Facebook game scored 50 million monthly active users when it launched in August.

Last year GM of Playfish Europe John Earner spoke exclusively to GamesIndustry.biz about the social game.

"We intend to invest a lot in the game and make it a multi-year franchise, and we intend to bring other games to market using the brand as well, so that we can become a force on Facebook not just this month but for the years to come. That's our goal."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now