Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GREE to open new office in Osaka

Tue 14 Feb 2012 8:54am GMT / 3:54am EST / 12:54am PST
Mobile

New San Francisco and Osaka premises part of broad growth strategy for 2012

The Japanese social network and gaming company GREE will open a new office in Osaka, Andriasang reports.

The new facility will open in March. It will be the company's second domestic development studio after its headquarters in Tokyo. In total, GREE has studios in eight countries worldwide.

The news follows just days after the company announced its plans to open an office in San Francisco.

"GREE is committed to building the leading global mobile social games ecosystem and reaching our goal of having one billion users," said CEO Naoki Aoyagi. "We are confident we can make this happen thanks in part to the games coming out of our North American studio, our amazing partners, and the new GREE platform"

The company recently posted impressive Q2 results, making a profit of 104.9 million on sales of 342.7 million. In a recent Stock Ticker article, Rob Fahey illustrated GREE's strong performance in 2011 by comparing it with one of its major competitors, DeNA.

This year will be decisive for GREE, and the company has indicated that it will open further studios in 2012.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now