Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Zynga and Hasbro enter merchandising agreement

Fri 10 Feb 2012 8:47am GMT / 3:47am EST / 12:47am PST
Retail

Toy maker to introduces lines based on Zynga properties from Autumn

Social giant Zynga has signed a merchandising agreement with toy maker Hasbro which will see the company's most popular IP turned into physical products from the Autumn.

The deal also includes the opportunity to create toys which are dual branded with both Zynga and Hasbro IP. The cost of the licence has not been revealed.

It's also not known if the deal could potentially operate both ways, with Zynga including Hasbro IP, such as Transformers, Beyblade or My Little Pony, in its games.

As Rovio's Angry Birds has shown most recently, game merchandising can be big business - the Finnish studio now produces plushies, clothing and a board game related to its mega-franchise.

3 Comments

James Poole
Managing Director

36 0 0.0
Not sure how it would work "both ways". Don't EA have the rights to make Hasbro games?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Raf Keustermans
CEO, co-founder Plumbee

28 2 0.1
Yeah, was thinking the same. Of course the deals are different: EA can create games based on Hasbro IP, while Hasbro will create games/toys based on Zynga IP, but still, can imagine it can/will create an awkward relationship between these parties.

Posted:2 years ago

#2
licenses are usually granted on a per-platform basis - so it's entirely possible that EA only tied up the traditional console / pc game licenses, but left the web-based 'social' platforms out of the agreement.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now