Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Jetpack Joyride downloads increased 13x after going free

Thu 09 Feb 2012 9:46am GMT / 4:46am EST / 1:46am PST
Mobile

5-10% of customers spending at least $1 after downloading, says creator

Jetpack Joyride studio Halfbrick has revealed that switching the game to a free-to-play model saw a huge increase in downloads, increasing revenue levels.

The game made around $1 million when it was released as a $1 game, but, since switching to a free-to-play model, has been downloaded 13 million times. Around 5-10 per cent of those downloads result in expenditure of at least $1, says Halfbrick.

That level of engagement has been enough to increase the revenues of the product.

The developer revealed the figures whilst speaking to Joystiq at the DICE event in Las Vegas, also expressing satisfaction with the performance of Fruit Ninja Kinect, which has sold 500,000 copies.

1 Comment

Joe Barron
Community Evangelist

5 0 0.0
Just goes to show, if you have high quality gameplay in a free iOS game, users will be happy to engage in micro-transactions to enhance their personal experience.

Working in a new iOS developer, these figures are really interesting.

http://www.kwalee.com

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now