Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Seropian resigns from Disney role

Wed 08 Feb 2012 9:05am GMT / 4:05am EST / 1:05am PST
People

SVP and general manager of core games will be replaced by ex-Blizzard VP Bill Roper

Bungie co-founder Alex Seropian has resigned from his post as Disney's SVP and general manager of core games.

Disney confirmed the news to Gamasutra, and informed the site that Seropian would be replaced by Bill Roper, who has previously held roles as VP of Blizzard North, and VP of the Marvel franchise for Disney.

Seropian had held the position since September 2009. He was also CEO and founder of Wideload Games and Bungie Studios. There is no news on his future career plans.

The news follows the release of Disney's Q1 2012 financial results, which showed decreased revenues for its Interactive Media division.

1 Comment

Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

578 322 0.6
Stephen: It means nothing for a company to be "in control of it's IP". Who is the company?

What is significant is when a creator has creative control. Different issue.

By the way: you can sell IP and still retain creative control over it. In film that's called "final cut".

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now