Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

DeNA sales up Y-o-Y, profits and sales down from last Q

Wed 08 Feb 2012 8:14am GMT / 3:14am EST / 12:14am PST
Finance

Japanese mobile platform posts Q3 revenue of $445 million, profit of $78 million

Japanese mobile platform DeNA has reported a drop in profits and sales from last quarter, although revenues are up year-on-year.

For the quarter ending December 31, 2011, DeNA pulled in 34.15 billion ($445m, 279m) in sales - a drop of two per cent from the last quarter but an increase of 16 per cent since the same quarter last year.

The company's profit was 6 billion ($77.8m, 49m) for the quarter, a huge drop of 25 per cent year on year and 26 per cent since last quarter.

Despite the drop, DeNA has predicted that Q4 will be its biggest ever, forecasting sales across all sectors at 40.5 billion ($519m, 326.6m). Included in that quarter's figures will be the cost of the acquisition of a professional Japanese baseball team, the Yokohama All Stars, which cost the company 9.5 billion in total.

DeNA's Mobage network continues to attract more users, rising to 35.9 million users from 32 million in the last quarter. The company sees the acquisition of users in their 30s and the re-engagement of existing users as its key areas of growth.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now