Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

D3Publisher signs game rights for next 3 Dreamworks films

Wed 08 Feb 2012 9:08am GMT / 4:08am EST / 1:08am PST
Publishing

Namco Bandai subsidiary takes over after THQ exits licensed games

D3Publisher, which is wholly owned by Namco Bandai, has signed a deal to produce the licensed games for the next three Dreamworks films, taking over after THQ decided to withdraw from the licensed and children's games markets to concentrate on core audiences.

Previously, THQ had exclusive worldwide rights to the games attached to Dreamworks' films, but increasingly poor financial performance performance in the sector has lead to a refocusing on core franchises such as the Warhammer and Saints Row and the deal was abandoned.

The deal covers Madagascar 3, Rise of the Guardians, and The Croods, which will all be released in the period between June, 2011 and spring next year.

No terms of the new deal were revealed publicly.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now