Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NPD retail reports to include Walmart data

Mon 06 Feb 2012 9:57am GMT / 4:57am EST / 1:57am PST
Retail

American retailer to submit sales figures to market research company

The NPD Group will now include sales data from US Walmart stores and walmart.com in its reports, after signing a deal with the American retailer.

"This agreement is truly a game changer for NPD and for the industry," said NPD CEO Karyn Schoenbart. 

"With Walmart data, we will be able to provide our clients with world class information and solidify our leadership position as the premier source of market insight in our industries."

Walmart is currently the world's largest retailer, with 8,500 stores globally and over 3000 in the US alone. 


"Our agreement with NPD will provide Walmart with deeper insights into what consumers are buying and what they are looking to buy," said Cindy Davis, executive VP of Walmart global customer insights. 

"We are sharing our point-of-sale information so that we're able to identify opportunities sooner and work with our manufacturer partners to develop more impactful customer-driven programs in the future."

1 Comment

Wait, does that mean they weren't reporting figures on video game sales, etc. from the world's largest retail chain before this?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now