Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

DeNA Studios Canada opens in Vancouver

Fri 03 Feb 2012 8:28am GMT / 3:28am EST / 12:28am PST

Gameview CEO will head up new operation for Mobage creator

Japanese company DeNA has become the latest industry name to set up operations in Canada, opening DeNA studios Canada later this month.

Irfan Virk, the current CEO of DeNA subsidiary Gameview Studios, will oversee the new Vancouver operation.

"We are excited to begin operations with the great talent in Vancouver," he said.

"DeNA anticipates the new studio will meaningfully contribute to augmenting the whole group's game development and operating capabilities."

The Mobage operator has also stated its intention to raise around $600,000 in capital for the new office, and cited Canada's rich talent pool and time zones as reasons for the expansion.

At first DeNA Studios Canada's focus will be on supporting 2010 acquisition Gameview, but will grow to provide development support to other DeNA operations.

Canada already has a strong development community, which include studios for Ubisoft, EA, and THQ.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now