Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga accounted for 12% of Facebook sales in 2011

Thu 02 Feb 2012 7:39am GMT / 2:39am EST / 11:39pm PST
Business

Social network files for $5bn IPO

Facebook has filed for its initial public offering, seeking to raise $5 billion in funding.

According to the company's IPO, sales during 2011 were $3.7 billion with profits of $1 billion.

The company also revealed that social gaming company Zynga accounted for 12 per cent of sales in 2011, around $445 million, primarily from virtual goods sales and advertising. The company is so important to Facebook that it lists it as a significant risk for the business should Zynga launch games with competitors.

"If the use of Zynga games on our platform declines, if Zynga launches games on or migrates games to competing platforms, or if we fail to maintain good relations with Zynga, we may lose Zynga as a significant Platform developer and our financial results may be adversely affected," stated the company.

Data purely for the month of December shows that the social network has a total of 825 million users, and 425 million users accessed the site through mobile devices.

3 Comments

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 420 0.3
Zynga are clearly a sygnificant developer on facebook, but if Zynga moved tomorrow, how many users would follow Zynga, how many would use a near identical game by another developer? A would guess a lot of farmville users don't know who made the game, but they all know they access it through Facebook.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Thiago Attianesi Creative Director, Fan Studios

59 2 0.0
Zyng will need to change to new rules.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now