Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nexon and Nexon Mobile to merge

Wed 01 Feb 2012 2:00pm GMT / 9:00am EST / 6:00am PST
Mobile

Deal to complete in April, will " make more active use of Nexon's IP" says CEO

Nexon

- Specialized in developing, publishing and servicing online games

- Games in service: 17 unique games...

company.nexon.com/en...

Korean gaming companies Nexon and Nexon Mobile have signed a new merger deal, which should be completed by April.

The company hopes to grow its mobile market share both locally and internationally, and take full advantage of the two affiliates' existing IPs.

It's planning 10 new titles in 2012.

"The measure was put in place to focus on the growth of the mobile business with NEXON's intellectual property, competitiveness of global businesses and the infrastructure," said Nexon Mobile CEO Seo Min, reported The Korea Herald.

"Considering that the highly growing platforms in the worldwide gaming industry are online games and mobile, mobile is projected to become a core portion of our business. This is why we plan to unify our mobile organization and make more active use of NEXON's IP and give more weight to overseas projects."

In December Nexon, which specialises in online gaming, went public and raised $1.17 billion from initial share sales.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now