Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Bungie hands over Halo to 343 Industries

Wed 01 Feb 2012 1:44pm GMT / 8:44am EST / 5:44am PST
Development

Microsoft's internal studio to manage shooter support from March 31

Bungie will complete the handover process for Halo on March 31, passing responsibility for the iconic shooter series to Microsoft's internal studio 343 Industries.

"All live Halo data will be managed by 343 Industries, and Bungie will no longer be able to update game stats and player service records, to host new user generated content, or to operate the Bungie Pro service," confirmed an official statement.

"All currently supported, Bungie-developed Halo titles will be impacted by this change. Bungie will preserve all existing historical Halo data on Bungie.net for as long as the Internet and Bungie's data storage systems remain functional."

Bungie has recently shown an interest in the mobile market and launched indie venture Aerospace, but has yet to reveal its next AAA project.

3 Comments

Pier Castonguay
Programmer

189 106 0.6
Please be Myth 3!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Callum Taylor
Studying BSc Computer Animation

3 0 0.0
Let's hope 343 keeps the huge Halo fanbase onside. Roll on Halo 4!

Posted:2 years ago

#2

K. Al-Hurby
Executive Producer/Director/Editor

18 1 0.1
Sigh. I loved halo and from what i gathered, the game was supposed to end with 3, but because there is till millions of dollars to be milked from the franchise... what could the possibly do with it now! I mean in the narrative sense.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now