Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Virgin Gaming hits 1 million registered users

Fri 27 Jan 2012 9:07am GMT / 4:07am EST / 1:07am PST
BusinessOnline

Competitive gaming platform has dished out $7m in prizes

Virgin Gaming, a platform which allows players of over a dozen games to compete in tournaments for cash, has reached a milestone of over one million registered users.

The service has also issued over $7 million worth of prizes to winners. In August last year, the prize fund was increased from $1 million to $3 million.

Players must deposit at least $20 in their Virgin Gaming account in order to participate in a money match. Games available include several EA Sports titles, thanks to a partnership, Battlefield 3, DiRT 3 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood.

The service launched in June, 2010, when Virgin founder Richard Branson promised wide-ranging prizes from around his Virgin network of companies, including flights, submarine trips and even the possibility of commercial space travel.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now