Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga hires charity veteran Ken Weber

Tue 24 Jan 2012 10:14am GMT / 5:14am EST / 2:14am PST
Social NetworkCharity

Becomes executive director of Zynga.org

Zynga has appointed Ken Weber, who has previously worked with The One Campaign and Network For Good, to head its charity operation Zynga.org.

"Essentially what we're trying to develop is a new platform for giving based on our games, integrated into the daily experience of playing our games," Weber told The Sydney Morning Hearld.

In his role as executive director Weber will increase its corporate giving, using rhe same community management skills Zynga applies to microtransactions in its games.

"Important new changes in philanthropy don't come along very often," added Weber.

"Fifteen years ago, when we were working on that UNICEF game, there was a seismic shift starting to happen. If the social graph is the next great wave of innovation, it's also reasonable to expect there will be a seismic shift for philanthropy."

Some of the current projects supported by Zynga.org include Save The Children, Habitat For Humanity, and Water.org.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now