Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rift maker Trion raises $85 million

Thu 19 Jan 2012 2:55pm GMT / 9:55am EST / 6:55am PST
BusinessOnline

MMORPG generates revenues of $100m in 10 months

Rift creator Trion Worlds has raised a further $85 million in funding led by Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan.

CEO Lars Buttler confirmed that the game has generated revenues of over $100 million in just ten months, with the company now considering an IPO.

"We are thrilled about entering this exciting period of growth and scale with our investors," said Buttler. "Backing from a stalwart long-term investor such as Teachers', which has the experience and structure to support our vision, and the expanded relationship with our current stakeholder and great supporter, BDMI, is a massive endorsement for Trion."

Rift uses a subscription model with in-game transactions and competes against Blizzard's World of Warcraft and BioWare's newly-released Star Wars: The Old Republic.

European media conglomerate Bertelsmann also took part in the funding round. According to Buttler, the warchest may be used for acquisition or licensing costs. Between 2006 and 2008 Trion raised $100 million.

Rift is now preparing for launches in South Korea between April and June and then China.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now