Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Image Metrics launches spin-off company

Thu 19 Jan 2012 3:53pm GMT / 10:53am EST / 7:53am PST
Developer ToolsBusiness

Faceware Technologies to concentrate on facial animation for AAA market and film

Image Metrics, whose facial animation technology has been used in games from developers like Rockstar and SEGA, has created a a new spin off company, Faceware Technologies.

"FTI is perfectly poised to deliver Faceware and our supporting products and services to our customers and certified partners," said CFO and COO Ron Ryder.

"There will be no interruption to the pace of innovation in the product line during 2012 and beyond."

Faceware will concentrate on offering Faceware 3.1 to the current client base, which includes creators of AAA games, music videos and films.

Image Metrics will concentrate on face recognition tools and consumer animation, innovations currently demonstrated by PortableYou, an avatar creation platform, and interactive comic Zombie Wars.

"This transaction is a great opportunity for both Image Metrics and FTI. because each company can focus on delivering exceptional products and services to its target customers and enable both companies to unlock faster growth potential in each market," added Robert Gehorsam, CEO.

"Image Metrics will now aggressively build out a set of remarkable products and technologies that will continue to transform how online users express themselves, communicate and interact."

There's no further information on the financial implications of the separation, but the company believes FTI will generate immediate revenue from its current customer base.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now