Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tencent signs CryEngine 3 deal

Tue 17 Jan 2012 4:07pm GMT / 11:07am EST / 8:07am PST
Developer Tools

Online developer will use tech for its next PC title

Chinese developer Tencent will use Crytek's CryEngine 3 for its next online PC title.

"It's a very exciting experience for us to have Tencent as our 8th CryEngine licensee in China," said Crytek's Carl Jones.

"We're delighted that Tencent have chosen CryEngine for what promises to be a very interesting title. Our experienced support team has been working with Tencent for a while now and we're all really impressed with the work from Tencent's developers, who are looking to achieve an ambitious vision!"

Tencent currently has the world's largest online community with 648 million user accounts. It has been in the game's market since 2004 with titles like Dungeon & Fighter and QQ Dancer.

"We selected CryENGINE 3 after researching most available cutting-edge 3D game engines," said Tencent producer Weishitao.

"CryENGINE 3's high quality graphics, built-in physics engine and powerful game creation toolset are exactly what we want. We've made a high quality playable game prototype within 3 months.  It has been a great experience working with Crytek."

1 Comment

Weston Sohlden

31 2 0.1

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now