Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

MetroGames faces legal action from staff

Tue 17 Jan 2012 8:51am GMT / 3:51am EST / 12:51am PST
LegalDevelopment

Argentine developer accused of dismissing staff without compensation

Ex-employees of Coco Girl developer MetroGames will take legal action against the studio in February after alleging that redundancy pay was being withheld.

"We haven't received our salary corresponding to the month of December, our bonuses and our compensation for sudden layoff," the group of former told Gamasutra.

They say that MetroGames coerced staff into quitting to avoid pay outs, and of "shady manoeuvres."

"The group of employees which didn't give in to the extortion perpetrated by both [studio owners Julian] Lisenberg and [Damian] Harburguer, were fired without compensation."

The unhappy former staff have to wait until February to start legal proceedingind, due to a judicial recess in January. MetroGames has admitted that due to financial problems staff numbers were reduced, but the studio currently remains open and games like Coco Girl are still online.

"Many of the former MetroGames' employees have been left in a dire situation: without money, job and in debt."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now