Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Playdom to publish Triple Town on Facebook

Mon 16 Jan 2012 9:19am GMT / 4:19am EST / 1:19am PST

Publisher "did not treat us like creative-but-helpless indies," says Edery

Disney's social games division Playdom will publish Spry Fox' Triple Town from this week on Facebook.

Improved marketing, reaching a higher user-base and the fact that Playdom offered "a fair deal" were the reasons for the partnership, according to Spry Fox' David Edery.

"They did not treat us like creative-but-helpless indies to be mercilessly exploited," he said. "They treated us with respect. It was also clear from day one that they were totally in love with the game."

"We want to create great original games," he continued. "We do not wish to spend our time creating a massive company with a huge operational arm, with all the overhead that entails. So, we will retain complete creative control of Triple Town on Facebook while Playdom takes care of the many important operational and marketing responsibilities that Spry Fox is not well positioned to manage.

Playdom has also made advanced tools for analysing activity in the game, said Edery. "We could theoretically have built and/or acquired all this from third parties but even in a best case scenario, it would have been neither easy nor cheap, and we would not have had Playdom's advice as we leverage those tools and grow Triple Town in general."

1 Comment

Matt Hackett
Game Developer

49 2 0.0
Very interesting. I enjoyed Triple Town on my Kindle and will be watching how it does on Facebook.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now