Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA's Barry Cottle quits for Zynga

Fri 13 Jan 2012 8:43am GMT / 3:43am EST / 12:43am PST
PeoplePublishing

UPDATE: EA Interactive restructuring, hits 2011 target of $1 billion in digital business

Barry Cottle, EA Interactive's top social executive, has left the company to join rival firm Zynga.

Taking on the role of executive VP of business and corporate development, Cottle called zynga "the pioneer and driving force behind the social games industry."

He has over 20 years of experience in entertainment and technology, and will now report to John Schappert - another EA exec who jumped ship to join the social games company.

"Barry's understanding of the intersection that connects technology, games and entertainment is unmatched," said Schappert, Zynga COO.

"His tenure and background is unparalleled; I've always admired his ability to grow businesses and inspire teams. I'm proud to say he's a colleague again."

UPDATE

According to Gamasutra, the EA Interactive (EAi) division has been folded into other parts of the company. Further details of the internal moves will be made public on February 2.

CEO John Riccitiello also reported that EA had hit its target for $1 billion of digital business for 2011, and called it an "incredibly important milestone" for the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now