Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

STALKER dev needs funding to complete sequel

Thu 12 Jan 2012 4:33pm GMT / 11:33am EST / 8:33am PST
Development

GSC Game World "hopeful" of finishing game

STALKER developer GSC Game World has admitted it needs more funding to complete the sequel to the highly praised shooter.

Reports had suggested the company was struggling and likely to close down before Christmas, but yesterday the Kiev-based developer said via Facebook that the project was still in development.

However, according to a report by Edge, the company is seeking funding to finish the game, stating: "We are hopeful things turn out well eventually. The team really wants to see STALKER continue."

5 Comments

Luke Stephenson
QA Technician

8 1 0.1
I'm throwing my money at my screen but nothing's happening!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Pier Castonguay
Programmer

189 106 0.6
Question is, a real sequel or just another reharsh of the same game for the fourth time?

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Wesley Williams
Quality Assurance

131 68 0.5
Just get on Kickstarter, I'm sure once gaming sites hear about it, the money will come rolling in.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,156 1,076 0.5
^I was about to post this. Kickstarter seems to be the best choice for funding. Both a retail and digital version would be excellent (yeah, it'll cost a mint, but hey - the money's out there, it seems) and I'm sure the dev team can come up with soem awesome bonuses for high contributors...

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Daniele Azara
Creative Director

5 0 0.0
It really depends on what they want to do and...how much money they need. Not shure if there are crowdfunding website with runs for millions of dollars. Ah, and Kickstarter is limited to US citizens.

Posted:2 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now