Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony board denies decision to promote Hirai to president

Mon 09 Jan 2012 9:56am GMT / 4:56am EST / 1:56am PST
PeoplePublishing

No replacement yet finalised for Howard Stringer says spokesperson

Sony's board has denied a report which appeared in Japanese paper The Nikkei, claiming that Kaz Hirai had been selected to take over duties as the company president from Howard Stringer.

In a statement to press following the Nikkei report, spokesperson Shiro Kambe denied that anything regarding the appointment had been finalised, insisting that the board was still considering its options.

The paper had claimed that Hirai, who has been promoted twice since surrendering specific responsibility for the PlayStation division, would be named as the company president by April, helping to lighten the extensive workload of Stringer, who is currently CEO, chairman and president.

Stringer is expected to retain both CEO and chairman positions after a new president is eventually appointed.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now