Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga designer joins Loot Drop

Thu 22 Dec 2011 8:20am GMT / 3:20am EST / 12:20am PST
People

Frontierville's Erin Hoffman joins Romero start up

Designer Erin Hoffman, previously of social gaming company Zynga, has joined Loot Drop as lead designer.

"Erin brings a soul to social games, and that's something I'd say about few game designers in this space," said COO Brenda Brathwaite.

" She genuinely believes in making games fun -- first and foremost -- and that's something core at Loot Drop. We are grateful she's joined us."

Hoffman has been working with online games for 12 years, and past projects include Frontierville, Dragonrealms and Kung Fu Panda World.

"The opportunity to work with not just one but three legendary game designers in a sustainability- and design-focused social game company was too good to pass up. I'll be working on amazing properties with some of my heroes," she said.

Her first game for Loot Drop will be a social title, and she'll be based in San Bruno, California. Hoffman is also an active member of the gaming community, named as one of the Most Influential Women in 2006 and serving on the Board of Directors of the International Game Developers Association. She also writes fantasy novels.

Loot Drop was founded in 2010 by John Romero, Brenda Garno Brathwaite and Tom Hall.

2 Comments

Nick Ferguson Senior Producer, Microsoft

49 11 0.2
Wasn't she also EA_Spouse? That feels worth a mention.

Posted:2 years ago

#1
She was, and I agree it's worth a mention. http://ea-spouse.livejournal.com/ A brave, landmark essay standing up for QOL in the games industry.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now