Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

House: PS3 on track for 15 million sales

Thu 15 Dec 2011 2:35pm GMT / 9:35am EST / 6:35am PST
HardwareFinance

Sony's Andrew House confirms figures for year to end March, won't reveal Vita targets

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's Andrew House has confirmed that the company still aims to sell 15 million PlayStation 3s in the year ending March 2012, despite a turbulent year for the company.

The head of Sony Computer Entertainment made the comments to Reuters, and revealed that sales on the console were ahead of target.

He would not reveal Sony targets for the new PlayStation Vita handheld.

The PS3 news comes despite a number of setbacks for the company, with hacker attacks in April that shook consumer confidence and shutdown the PlayStation Network Store and the devastating effects of the Japanese earthquakes in July.

2 Comments

Bryan Wiegele Owner/CEO, Perpetual Games

6 1 0.2
Back in May it was reported Xbox 360 had 55M unit sales. I always heard PS3 was behind Xbox but I didn't think by this much! I guess it's no coincidence I've turned my PS3 on twice in the last two years. Both times for Uncharted ;)

I'm very curious how the Vita will sell. It seems the market has changed for good and a "games only" device is obsolete, especially an expensive one.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Fieaz Ismail

11 1 0.1
I think the article is referring to this financial year. Xbox 360 has sold almost 62M worldwide, PS3 is at around 58M.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now