Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Visceral Melbourne dev founds mobile studio

By Matthew Handrahan

Wed 14 Dec 2011 12:50pm GMT / 7:50am EST / 4:50am PST

PlaySide to begin production in January 2012

A game designer from EA's recently closed Visceral Melbourne studio has founded a new mobile developer.

According to a report on Kotaku Australia, Gerry Sakkas was offered the chance to relocate to one of EA's studios in the US following the closure of Visceral, but instead chose to start a company with former colleagues Aaron Pasias and Mark Goulopoulos.

PlaySide will begin production on January 16, 2012, with a goal of bringing AAA production values and techniques to the mobile market.

"The goal was to create a studio with people who were accustomed to aiming for AAA quality, take that talent, and tailor it to a mobile audience," says Sakkas, who will serve as CEO of PlaySide.

Sakkas believes that many AAA developers have got the approach to mobile development "terribly wrong" by simply re-packagaing console experiences for mobile gamers.

"We are all about making a completely tailored experience for the mobile platform, with the added quality and polish of a console game. Our biggest goals are to create unique and loveable characters and to make a real impact on the mobile games industry."

From Recommendations by Taboola


Alex Bunch Proof Reader, ZiCorp Studios

98 125 1.3
Melbourne used to be called Batmania! That's one for the pub trivia quiz.

Posted:3 years ago


Murray Lorden Game Designer & Developer, MUZBOZ

204 72 0.4
Good luck PlaySide. All the best.

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now