Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mac App store clocks over 100 million downloads

Tue 13 Dec 2011 8:28am GMT / 3:28am EST / 12:28am PST
Development

Total reached in under one year since launch

Apple's Mac App store, which features applications for Apple's desktop computers, has served over 100 million downloads since opening less than one year ago.

The App store for iOS devices has served over 18 billion downloads, with more coming at the rate of one billion a month.

"In just three years the App Store changed how people get mobile apps, and now the Mac App Store is changing the traditional PC software industry," said Apple senior VP of marketing Philip Schiller.

"With more than 100 million downloads in less than a year, the Mac App Store is the largest and fastest growing PC software store in the world."

The Mac App store follows the same structure as the iOS storefront, offering developers a 70 per cent cut of proceeds from the sales of their app.

1 Comment

Andrew Ihegbu
Studying Bsc Commercial Music

436 146 0.3
Remembering that a huge portion of Apps on there are free and exclusive to the store (like the Soundcloud player and many others) this doesn't really strike me as a big deal tbh.

I own a Mac, work on a Mac and went to a Mac based college until September this year, where over 50% of my class owned a Mac. I can confirm that the App Store is largely ignore amongst us, except when downloading the SoundCloud app alone.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now