Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Toys R Us sees sales fall for games

Mon 12 Dec 2011 9:40am GMT / 4:40am EST / 1:40am PST
Finance

Retailer reports 14.5 per cent drop for entertainment and gaming category

The latest financial figures from children's retailer Toys R Us has shown a 14.5 per cent drop in Entertainment sales, a category which includes games and consoles.

The Q3 results showed net sales on $2,700 million for the company, compared with last year's $2719 million and with the entertainment category excluded, net sales saw an increase of 0.9 per cent.

"Among our most important strategic priorities in the U.S. is creating new ways for customers to shop seamlessly between our online and bricks and mortar businesses, wherever, whenever, and however they choose," said CEO Jerry Storch.

"Important to increasing the depth of our omnichannel services, was the recent opening of our state-of-the-art ecommerce fulfilment centre in Nevada, which provides increased capacity to meet the needs of our customers who shop online."

The story follows the latest report from the NPD, which shows a year on year 0.5 per cent shrinkage for November.

1 Comment

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,195 1,170 0.5
Well, a LOT of people are STILL out of work, so it's hard to ignore that fact. No money to spend on anything but necessities = less entertainment dollars spent, period. Sure a lot of cheap app games are flying from assorted app stores, but it's a totally different angry bird, as any smart person should know...

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now