Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Epic's Tim Sweeney to be inducted into AIAS Hall of Fame

Thu 08 Dec 2011 9:01am GMT / 4:01am EST / 1:01am PST
EventsPeople

Founder to be awarded at D.I.C.E. in February

Epic Games founder Tim Sweeney is to be inducted into the AIAS Hall of Fame at the 2012 D.I.C.E. Summit in February.

Sweeney becomes the 16th inductee, and joins industry luminaries such as Will Wright, Mark Cerny, Richard Garriott, Peter Molyneux and Sid Meier.

"Tim's vision has changed the face of gaming with the advent of the Unreal Engine and the commitment of Epic, as a studio, to bring both consumer and industry-facing technology to new heights," commented Martin Rae, president of the Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences.

"We're honoured to add Tim Sweeney to our Hall of Fame. His unrelenting and innovative work on behalf of developers and gamers has created the imaginative games that help to drive the success of our industry."

Sweeney will be presented with his Hall of Fame Award on February 9 by Epic vice president Mark Rein at the 15th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards.

"I've had the pleasure to work alongside Tim Sweeney for nearly 20 years," offered Rein. "Many people in the game industry are aware of what a brilliant technical visionary he is, but what they might not realise is that he is also a great leader and thinks deeply about how to use technology to empower artists and creatives to be successful and realize their vision.

"Tim's sense of fairness and doing what's right, not just for Epic but for the industry as a whole, is also what makes him so admired among the people who know him."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now