Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gove backs computer science for school curriculum

Tue 06 Dec 2011 3:53pm GMT / 10:53am EST / 7:53am PST
Politics

Next Gen Skills campaign gets boost from secretary of state for education

Secretary of state for education Michael Gove has said that he backs the call for computer science to be part of the National Curriculum.

Replacing ICT with computer science in schools is central to the Next Gen Skills campaign launched last month by UKIE with help from Google, NESTA, and Skillset, who see it as crucial to putting the UK at the forefront of future high tech business.

Talking to students at Catmose College about ICT in schools, Gove said: "What we should have is computer science in the future, and how it fits into the curriculum is something that we need to talk to scientists, to experts in coding, and to young people about, to make sure that that part of what happens in schools which deals with technology and computing is relevant."

Gove's comments are the first since the government said it understood the need to develop skills in the digital and creative sectors, but at the time remained uncommitted in its official response to the Livingstone Hope review.

That review was submitted to the government in February, with 20 recommendations to boost the digital games and visual effects industries in the UK.

The remarks by the secretary of state for education will please campaigners such as Ian Livingstone, who has held meetings with Gove's special advisor Dominic Cummings about introducing computer science to the classroom.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now