Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity passes 750,000 registered users

Tue 29 Nov 2011 1:34pm GMT / 8:34am EST / 5:34am PST
Developer Tools

Popular engine triples user-base in a single year, web player now at 80 million installs

Unity Technologies, creator of the Unity development platform, now has more than 750,000 registered developers worldwide.

At this time last year, the company's user-base stood at around 250,000. Now, more than 200,000 people - 26 per cent of all registered users - log at least one session a month.

"We're amazed at how rapidly Unity continues to grow in popularity globally," said CEO David Helgason in a statement. "The continuing growth of the platform demonstrates that when provided with excellent tools, developers will embrace them in numbers that surpass anything anyone imagined."

The Unity Web Player has also seen impressive growth, rising from 40 million installs in November 2010 to more than 80 million by the end of November 2011.

To read our in-depth account of the state of Unity Technologies in 2011, click here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now