Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Big Fish Games pioneers iPad subs service

Wed 23 Nov 2011 9:18am GMT / 4:18am EST / 1:18am PST
MobileRetail

Apple gives clearance for $6.99 a month iPad service

Big Fish Games

Welcome to Big Fish Games! We're big believers that everyone is a gamer at heart and that games are a...

bigfishgames.com

Big Fish Games is the first developer to win permission from Apple to offer a subscription service for its products, Bloomberg reports.

The Seattle-based developer will ultimately charge $6.99 a month for the ability to stream "dozens" of games through its official app. The service is for iPad only, and will initially require wi-fi to play.

There will also be a promotional period where a subscription costs $4.99, and an ad-funded free version that lets users play for 30 minutes a day.

"It took longer than usual to be approved," said Big Fish founder Paul Thelen. "They needed to be convinced there's a reason to charge customers every month."

Big Fish Games was founded in 2002, and last year booked $140 million in revenue. Thelen estimates that around 75 per cent of its players are women over the age of 30.

The company recently appointed former Amazon.com exec Dave Stephenson to the position of chief financial officer.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now