Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Samsung in "final talks" on Google TV

Tue 22 Nov 2011 4:16pm GMT / 11:16am EST / 8:16am PST
Emerging Markets

New wave of Google TV to launch next year, but not at CES

The president of Samsung's TV division revealed that the company is in final talks on a deal for the rollout of Google TV.

According to a report in The Korea Times, Yoon Boo-keun told journalists that the Samsung Google TV would make its debut at a special event next year.

"We are in our final stages of talks with Google over releasing our version of a Google TV," he said. "The product will be revealed next year for sure but not at the CES in January."

Google TV is already available on certain Sony televisions and Logitech set-top boxes, but Samsung claims that its version will be considerably different.

After the enormous expense and effort involved in gaining ground on Apple in the smartphone market, Google is keen to avoid the same mistakes when it comes to smart and connected TV. An Apple TV product has been strongly rumoured for several months, but the Samsung deal suggests that Google may be closer to realising its next step.

Google TV gives users access to web content through their television sets, including social networks, apps and games. Samsung president Yoon Boo-keun suggested that pricing information would be announced at CES in January.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now