Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect Accelerator offers $20,000 investment to devs

By Rachel Weber

Mon 21 Nov 2011 12:05pm GMT / 7:05am EST / 4:05am PST

Ten companies will be chosen for three month program

Microsoft has launched a new initiative, Kinect Accelerator, offering $20,000 in investment and support to developers who want to work with Kinect.

"We'll take companies starting with fully developed products and funding," reads the official FAQ.

"We'll help them with business model, introductions, financing, and more. Likewise, nothing is too early. We'll accept companies with no more than an idea, a dream, and maybe a dog."

Ten companies will be chosen from all applicants, and the rewards package for the three month program, based in Seattle, is impressive.

"Every company participating in the Kinect Accelerator will receive an investment of $20,000, an Xbox development kit, the Windows Kinect SDK, office space, all the resources of BizSpark, technical training and support, and mentorship from entrepreneurs, investors and Microsoft executives intensely focused on making their business a success."

In return TechStars will take 6 per cent in equity in common stock from the companies.

The deadline for applications is January 25, 2012.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Thiago Attianesi Creative Director, Fan Studios

59 2 0.0
Big opportunity.

Posted:4 years ago


Gabriel Pendleton Unity Developer, Bully!

7 0 0.0
I really like this idea from Microsoft. It creates good buzz when you help devs out.

Posted:4 years ago


Mike Arcuri VP, Marketing, Zipline games

3 0 0.0
TechStars + Kinect = goodness.

Posted:4 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now