Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gree suing DeNA over unfair business practices

Mon 21 Nov 2011 3:49pm GMT / 10:49am EST / 7:49am PST
Mobile

Looking for damages of $13.7 million, KDDI a co-plaintiff

Gree and Japanese mobile network KDDI have filed a lawsuit against Mobage operator DeNA over unfair business practices. They are seeking damages worth $13.7 million.

"Gree has extensively deliberated on how it should react to the illegal acts carried out by DeNA since the cease and desist order became final and binding," said the company in a statement.

Gree claims that DeNA failed to list games on Mobage Town if they were also published by Gree on its network. DeNA has already received a cease and desist order and the was ruled as using unfair business practices by the Japan Fair Trade Commission.

"Gree has decided to bring a lawsuit against DeNA. Supporting Gree's grounds to achieve sound development of the entire social game industry through sound competition described below, KDDI, co-operating company of 'au one Gree' with Gree, made the decision to become a co-plaintiff in the lawsuit."

DeNA told Gamasutra it was yet to receive any communication from either Gree or KDDI regarding the lawsuit.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now