Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Stardock shares games with Steam

Thu 17 Nov 2011 8:37am GMT / 3:37am EST / 12:37am PST
Online

Sins Of A Solar Empire: Trinity first title to be made available

Developer and publisher Stardock's PC titles will now be available to Steam users, starting with Sins Of A Solar Empire: Trinity.

In May Stardock sold its own digital delivery service, Impulse, to GameStop.

"With the sale of our former PC digital download technology to GameStop earlier this year, we no longer have any conflicts of interest in offering our titles to other digital distribution channels," said CEO Brad Wardell.

"We are starting with Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity with other titles being made available over the coming weeks."

Steam and, GameStop PC Downloads, will offer the game at a discounted rate this week.

The company has also promised more platform announcements in the coming weeks.

Stardock was founded in 1991, and as well as developing and publishing PC strategy titles, created Object Desktop, which allows PC users to modify Windows.

2 Comments

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,255 421 0.3
Could this have been part of the reason for selling Impulse? That it was politically restricting them from accessing Steam's audience? It seems like a very good move in that light.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Sean Bamberger Junior Product Assistant, UTV Ignition Entertainment

3 0 0.0
Great news! Sins of a Solar Empire is an incredible game, probably one of my favourite strategy titles.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now