Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga, PopCap, Rovio games for Kindle Fire at launch

Thu 10 Nov 2011 9:14am GMT / 4:14am EST / 1:14am PST
HardwarePublishing

Game companies show support for Amazon's new tablet device

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

Zynga, PopCap, Rovio, EA and Gameloft are among the companies publishing games on Amazon's Kindle Fire tablet device.

The Kindle Fire launches on November 15, and will also support apps from Netflix, Rhapsody, Pandora, Twitter, Facebook, and "several thousand" others.

"We started talking to app developers everywhere the day we introduced Kindle Fire, and the response has been overwhelming," said Dave Limp, vice president of Amazon's Kindle division.

"And this is only the beginning - we're adding more apps and games every day across all categories."

All Kindle Fire apps are "Amazon-tested" to ensure quality. They will be available through the Amazon Appstore, and can be used on any other Android-based device.

Games available at launch include Words With Friends, Plants Vs. Zombies, Cut The Rope, Fruit Ninja and Doodle Jump.

Public interest in the Kindle Fire, which is widely seen as the first credible competitor to the iPad, has exceeded Amazon's expectations. In October, the company announced that it was "building millions more than we'd already planned."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now