Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Guillemot: Software key to 3DS success

Wed 09 Nov 2011 9:05am GMT / 4:05am EST / 1:05am PST
Hardware

Ubisoft CEO believes price cut is not enough to expand 3DS userbase

Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot believes that software is the key to improving the fortunes of the Nintendo 3DS.

Speaking to Edge Online at the Montreal International Games Summit, Guillemot supported Nintendo's decision to cut the price of the handheld, but expressed doubt over it being enough to stimulate growth.

"I think it's a question of coming with enough games [more] than the price. For sure the price was too high and it was a big boost when they changed it, it really was a good idea," he said.

"Now we will see. When you look at the DS everybody was saying: 'This machine is never going to sell,' and after a year it took off rapidly."

"For sure there are competitors - iPhone and all the other machines - but it will depend eventually on software. If the software is good, it should do well."

Nintendo's platforms have proved very profitable for Ubisoft. In fact, Guillemot revealed yesterday that the Wii still accounts for 45 per cent of its total business, thanks to big-selling products like the Just Dance series.

Shortly after Nintendo's half-year financial results, Satoru Iwata acknowledged the lack of compelling software on the 3DS, and promised new software that would attract new players to the device.

"Aiming for the next fiscal year, we are also working on new genres of software that may attract people who are not particularly interested in video games," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now