Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Sales down as Take-Two sees $47m Q2 loss

Tue 08 Nov 2011 10:03pm GMT / 5:03pm EST / 2:03pm PST
FinancePublishing

Digital sales account for 25 per cent of second quarter

Red Dead Redemption publisher Take-Two reported losses of $47.3 million for the second quarter, down from the $8 million profit for the same period last year.

Revenues were also down to $107 million from $245 million in 2011, from sales of catalogue and digital content. Digital accounted for 25 per cent of revenues during the three month period, driven by GTA, Borderlands, Red Dead Redemption and Sid Meier's Civilization.

"Our second quarter results exceeded expectations, driven by strong demand for the company's catalogue offerings and digitally delivered add-on content that deepens the consumer experience," offered Strauss Zelnick, chairman and CEO of Take-Two.

"Looking ahead, Take-Two has the strongest development pipeline in the company's history. At the cornerstone of our stellar line-up is the recently announced next instalment of Rockstar Games' iconic franchise that has sold-in more than 114 million units - Grand Theft Auto V.

He added: "The creative team at Rockstar Games continues to set benchmarks for excellence with every new release and we're confident that consumers' enthusiasm will be rewarded with a breathtaking entertainment experience that can only be provided by Grand Theft Auto."

1 Comment

Robert McLachlan Lead Designer, Climax Studios

11 19 1.7
Can a line-up have a cornerstone?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now