Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Best Buy UK stores to close by end of the year

Tue 08 Nov 2011 10:41am GMT / 5:41am EST / 2:41am PST
Retail

US firm's expansion plans halted due to poor financial performance

Best Buy

With operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, China and Mexico, Best Buy is a multinational retailer...

bestbuy.com

Best Buy will close its UK Big Box consumer electronics stores, Internet Retailing reports.

The US retail giant has 11 Big Box stores in the UK, all of which will close before the end of the year, costing the company an estimated 25m to 30m and a further 40m to 45m in asset write downs.

A consultation period with affected staff has already begun, and could potentially delay the final closing date into 2012.

"The eleven Best Buy UK 'Big Box' stores have performed exceptionally at the level of customer satisfaction, but they do not have the national reach to achieve scale and brand economies," said Roger Taylor, CEO of Carphone Warehouse, Best Buy's partner in its UK expansion.

"Our immediate focus is our people and we are confident that the large majority will be offered alternative positions elsewhere in our UK business."

Best Buy opened its first UK store in Thurrock, Essex, in March 2010. It intended to open 90 stores in conjunction with Carphone Warehouse by 2013, but rumours that its UK plans would cease began to surface in June this year.

1 Comment

blink and you missed it! forget a 3-5 yr retail strategy - they won't even hit 24months! ridiculous.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now