Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

DC Universe picks up 120,000 new users

Fri 04 Nov 2011 8:47am GMT / 4:47am EDT / 1:47am PDT
BusinessOnline

Game gets early boost on PC after going free-to-play

Since going free-to-play earlier this week, Sony Online Entertainment's DC Universe has picked up an extra 120,000 registrations on PC.

That's according to SOE boss John Smedley, who also noted that concurrent users are up by four times as much. To increase take up, the company is also planning a big TV and online advertising push this month.

DC Universe Online for both PC and PlayStation 3 is the latest massively multiplayer game to go free-to-play after originally launching with a subscription model.

Last month Smedley wrote for GamesIndustry.biz, stating that he believes free-to-play models are the future of online gaming, breaking down barriers to entry for new players and levelling the playing field for smaller development teams that no longer have to deal with traditional retail channels.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now