Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

6waves LolApps acquires Smartron5

Mon 31 Oct 2011 8:30am GMT / 4:30am EDT / 1:30am PDT
Business

30-person Beijing developer to target China

6waves Lolapps media

With over 40 million active users per month, Lolapps has the largest network of social games and applications...

lolapps.com

Social studio 6wave LolApps has confirmed the acquisition of Beijing studio Smartron5, which will leverage the company's Chinese market.

The 30 person studio will develop its own games as well as helping to push the company's other projects to the market. The new studio will be the publisher's sixth, complementing bases in London and San Franciso as well as three more in Asia.

"The Asian market is complex and the Smartron5 team brings western-production values with a deep understanding of how to be successful in China," said 6waves LolApps CEO Rex Ng.

"The opportunity to add a team that can deliver on our reputation of providing today's most exciting social game experiences made this an easy decision," said 6waves Lolapps COO Arthur Chow.

"The Smartron5 team brings with them not only a commitment to quality but a depth of relationships that can only be achieved through years of experience innovating in the Chinese-market."

No terms of the acquisition have been made public.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now