Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix and DeNA partner on Final Fantasy social game

Fri 28 Oct 2011 9:19am GMT / 5:19am EDT / 2:19am PDT
Publishing

First Final Fantasy social game to be released on DeNA's Mobage platform

Square Enix is collaborating with Japanese mobile giant DeNA to create the first social game based on the Final Fantasy IP.

The game will be released on DeNA's Mobage platform, and while there is no official release date, Japanese gamers can already pre-register online. Owners of the PSP title Final Fantasy Type-0 will receive an exclusive in-game reward.

Square Enix has released two Facebook games to date, Knights of the Crystals and Chocobo's Crystal Tower, but the new game, which will focus on "fighting for teammates," will be the first to use its flagship franchise.

Square Enix joins a growing list of high profile Japanese game companies creating games for DeNA's Mobage platform. In July, the company announced that Keiji Inafune, Grasshopper Manufacture, Prope, Meister and Marvellous Entertainment all had projects in development.

2 Comments

Well, that's awful. I can't wait to see "Cloud needs more materia to activate his Limit Break! Send him some?" all over my FB wall before I flag it as spam and block the app.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Haven Tso Web-based Game Reviewer

255 8 0.0
Square Enix is just milking the franchise as much as possible. The franchise is on its last leg imo

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now