Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Motorola tablet fails to excite retailers

Fri 28 Oct 2011 10:05am GMT / 6:05am EDT / 3:05am PDT
MobileHardware

Q3 financial results show just 100,000 Xoom tablets shipped

Motorola shipped just 100,000 units of its Xoom tablet device in the last quarter.

The figure was revealed in Motorola's Q3 financial results, and represents a tiny fraction of the 11.6 million mobile devices the company shipped in total.

The Xoom launched in February this year, but, like many other tablet devices, has struggled to compete with Apple's market-leading iPad, which shipped 11.1 million units in Q3.

Motorola was acquired by Google for $12.5 billion in August. Google cited the company's vast patent library, and its utility in the ongoing legal struggle between iOS and Android devices, as a primary incentive.

3 Comments

Adam Campbell
Associate Producer

1,137 914 0.8
It's a shame as I think it's incredible.. Then again, the only tablet with any consistent success seems to be the iPad.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Gregory Keenan

102 11 0.1
I have one - i think its underpowered! However knowing its a dual core Nvidia chip - i know that is not the case. But all my colleges jump to that opinion because it can be very laggy just opening up the app menu - hence the majority went out and bought ipads instead.

Simple visual touch put them off - motorolas optimizations have never been the best - my old phone (the Dext) proves than. I hope google can turn them around

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Adam Campbell
Associate Producer

1,137 914 0.8
Well, the Xoom will get Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) if that's any help ;)

I haven't got any big complaints so far. The lag is forgiveable, but having double the memory of the iPad 2 hopefully that's ironed out..

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now