Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Hulu Plus for Wii and 3DS in US

Fri 21 Oct 2011 2:39pm GMT / 10:39am EDT / 7:39am PDT
HardwarePublishing

Streaming service for $7.99 a month, 3DS firmware update adds 3D video recording

Nintendo will add the video streaming service Hulu Plus to the 3DS and Wii before the end of the year.

The service will only be available to US customers, and will cost $7.99 a month with "limited advertising."

Nintendo also revealed details of the 3DS's November firmware update, which will allow the device to record and store up to 10 minutes of 3D video. Nintendo claims that users will be able to create 3D "stop-motion animation videos."

"Nintendo 3DS continues to evolve with great new features and functions designed to reinforce its position as a premiere entertainment device," said Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime in a statement.

The 3DS saw an immediate improvement in sales following its price-cut, but those figures have declined rapidly since then.

For a full breakdown of Nintendo's recent performance, read Rob Fahey's Stock Ticker article.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,232 2,161 1.0
The 3DS declined in sales like all consoles do after a price cut sales spike. It's now plateaued and is the best selling (on average) console every week. Your statement, and link to a nearly 2 month old sales article, suggest it's not doing so well.


Good to see Nintendo isn't ignoring the Wii with service updates.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now