Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CrowdStar begins global multi-platform push

Fri 21 Oct 2011 9:55am GMT / 5:55am EDT / 2:55am PDT
MobilePublishing

Eight new iterations of Girl franchise to launch by the end of the year

Social game developer CrowdStar has started an aggressive strategy of global expansion, VentureBeat reports.

CrowdStar has christened its new strategy "Project Trident" due to its "three prongs": developing Facebook games for a mainstream female audience, launching those products on mobile devices, and then moving into Asian markets.

CrowdStar will launch eight new versions of its It Girl and Top Girl franchises before the end of the year, making them available on 10 social networks worldwide, iOS and Android.

The company's Asian push will be aided by a partnership with the Korean online gaming company NHN, which will initially launch It Girl in Japan, before moving on to Korea and China. All of CrowdStar's products will be fully localised for the individual territories.

CrowdStar launched It Girl in Russia in August this year. Between It Girl on Facebook and Top Girl on mobile platforms CrowdStar currently has 1 million DAUs and 8 million MAUs worldwide.

In July, CrowdStar announced a $10 million fund for mobile development projects, and recently invested a combined total of $1.5 million in six mobile developers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now