Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

100 players affected in Gameloft security breach

Fri 21 Oct 2011 12:39pm GMT / 8:39am EDT / 5:39am PDT
MobilePublishing

GameloftLive.com taken offline amid security concerns

The French mobile publisher Gameloft has confirmed that a security breach caused it to take down one of its websites.

According to a report on CNET, the possibility of a security problem was first raised on the company's forums earlier this week. This was followed by GameloftLive.com going offline yesterday.

Gameloft issued a statement to CNET confirming that "about 100 users" had been affected, including players of the popular game Order & Chaos.

"All users who have contacted us have been re-credited to their original account's situation," the statement read.

"As less than 1 per cent of Gameloft Live users accessed Gameloft Live through the Web version, we decided to close the web version of Gameloft Live. All users who have contacted us saw their account situation restored. It is a priority for us to keep players' data protected."

Despite attracting criticism for its practice of creating thinly veiled imitations of popular games Gameloft has achieved considerable financial success, and recently announced the creation of up to 150 jobs with a new studio in New Orleans.

1 Comment

Neil Young Programmer, Rebellion Developments

305 389 1.3
The word "criticism" is hotlinked to "http://www.gamesindustry.biz/URL"

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now