Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Epic Games Korea signs licensing deal with Neowiz

Wed 19 Oct 2011 7:41am GMT / 3:41am EDT / 12:41am PDT
Developer Tools

Largest deal to date for Korean arm of Unreal Engine 3 developer

Epic Games Korea has signed its largest licensing deal yet with Neowiz Games, a developer and publisher best known for its FPS and sports titles.

Neowiz's new MMORPG, Bless, will use Unreal Engine 3.

"It is great to announce one of our most important licensing deals in Korea, and we're excited to see Neowiz Games' first MMORPG using Unreal Engine 3," said Ray Park, territory manager of Epic Games Korea.

"Neowiz Games' extensive knowledge of online games and the technological competitiveness of Unreal Engine 3 should prove a winning combination for Korean gamers."

The game is the work of 150 developers and began development in 2009.

"When creating a large-scale MMORPG, the most important foundation is having an expandable and robust game engine as the production tool," said chief producer on the project Jacob Han.

"I believe Unreal Engine 3's spectacular graphics rendering capabilities, among many other elements, make it the best option."

"And, with the Unreal Landscape tool developed by Epic Games Korea, it allows us to create extremely detailed yet full-scale worlds while utilizing less system memory than ever before."

Epic Games Korea was founded in 2009 in Seoul. Epic Games' Tim Sweeney recently showed Unreal Engine 3 running in Adobe Flash Player 11.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now